knitting needles are handy…

I think I will start posting random bench tips.Having worked with many other jewellers over the past few years, I have always found it interesting to see how each individual adapts tools and techniques to suit their own making style, especially the delight jewellers take in adopting random and often unusual objects into our tool boxes. I think this should be shared.

#1 knitting needles

I’m sure I’m not the only jeweller to use this tip. I use knitting needles to make jump rings – they are perfect as the size is on the head, and are easily found at op.shops in bundles (I have quite a collection). Firstly I cut off the pointy tip, then drill a hole close to the end to poke the wire through before winding around the needle. Plastic needles are best as you can easily cut directly into the needle when cutting the wire. I also use the wooden handles of old paint brushes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment